Make A Fashion Statement With Waistcoats

18 Jun

Make a fashion statement with waistcoats
 

Waistcoats are ‘in’ this season. From superstars like  SRK to regular college going guys, everyone is sporting this trendy semi-formal wear. Earlier, waistcoats used to be formal wear worn on top of shirts to complete a tuxedo. Now, guys are sporting it to make a style statement, especially at social dos. Says fashion designer Abhishek Dutta, since waistcoats cling to the body and accentuate the waistline, it’s best for medium-built or slim men to wear this. About the fabric, Dutta says, “Guys can choose from denim, suede, leather or thick linen. The pointed portion should reach up to the waistline and it’s always better to have buttons rather than zips on your waistcoat.

Talking about the colours and patterns, Dutta says, Large Madras checks, blocks and Gingham checks (closely-bound gradation checks) are quite ‘in’. “Thin, vertical stripes in pink are also popular as they  enhance the tall and slim look. On the other hand, those who are rather lanky and want to look a bit heavy should opt for horizontal stripes.” Among the cool, solid colours are black, charcoal grey, brown, tones of rust and maroon, informs the designer. When waistcoats are worn over shirts or suits of almost the same colour, this renders it a more formal and sober look. For the fashionable young crowd, it’s better to opt for frayed, denim waistcoats on shirts. “It’s also a safer option to wear striped or checkered waistcoats when the shirt is of a solid colour and vice-versa,” suggests Dutta.

 

‘My family is my best critic’
 
Laxmi Ratan Shukla, cricketer

Cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla takes the criticism and compliments from his father and wife very seriously.

Q Down memory lane῅ I was a very naughty child and frequently used to bunk classes and play cricket. My teachers used to get very angry. However, when I meet them now, referring to my bunking, they tell me, bahut aachha kiya. (It was a good thing that you did).

Q If not a sportsperson῅ Perhaps I would have joined my dad’s business.

Q Your favourite holiday destinations in India and abroad? In India, I love the scenic mountains of Rishikesh in Uttaranchal. Abroad, I like England where I have many friends. Scotland, Yorkshire and Liverpool are other favourite destinations near England.

Q  Any social work you are into? I don’t believe in instituionalised charity because most of the times, you are never sure if the money will reach the right persons. When someone approaches me, I verify if the person is really needy and then help him. Some years ago, I raised Rs 4 lakh by playing for my local club. I donated the money to the families of Kargil soldiers who lost their lives.

Q  Personalities you admire most῅ My father who used to coach and inspire me since my childhood, Sourav Ganguly, (I grew up watching him), Shah Rukh Khan, Amitabh Bachchan and Madhuri Dixit. What amazes me about Big B is the fact that even at 65, he is so fit and hard working. I have watched SRK from close quarters during the two months of IPL. He is so down to earth and yet such a successful man.

Q How do you like to chill out? I love to spend time with my wife and parents, whenever I get time. I also watch TV and movies and chat with friends to relax.

Q Your favourite cuisines? Homemade food prepared by my mother.

Q What is the best compliment you have received so far and from whom? My family is my best critic.  So, when my father and wife Smita praise me, (which is not very often), I take it as a compliment. Also, during the IPL, when I took three wickets in one over, both Sourav Ganguly and Shah Rukh Khan praised me. I consider it a great moment.

Q Your message for those who want to make it big in the field of sports? Work hard. However, don’t jump into a cricketing career just for the lure of money and glamour or just because your parents are forcing you to get into cricket. Take up the sport only if you truly love the game.

Mr Nice doesn’t mean ‘doormat’
 
Male call

Q  My girlfriend and I have started to move to the next level, but now she says the relationship is boring, and that I’m too nice to her. How can I make the relationship fun, and not be so nice?

A Just one question for you: what relationship? Because this one was toast from ‘Hello.’ At least she was honest and didn’t give you the “It’s not you, it’s me” line. Although we hope her assessment of “boring” didn’t happen to come immediately after your move to the “next level.” OK, then, here’s the thing: There’s nice, and then there’s doormat. It’s one thing to be polite, generous and mindful of feelings. It’s another to be servile, supplicant and slavish. Being ‘nice’ is fine, even admirable, but it’s no secret that most women prefer guys with a little backbone, too. So even your civility with a smidge of brazenness, recklessness and of course, a dash of humour.

The situation: You’re debating where to go on a date; girlfriend suggests a place and asks what you would like to do. Possible responses: Too nice: “Whatever you want, dear. What would you like me to wear?” Too mean: “That’s the most idiotic idea I’ve ever heard in my life. What’s the speed-dial for Round Table again?”

Just right: “I’ll take care of it; let me surprise you. Appropriate attire would be, um, that black dress with the plunging back. The short one.” Plus, just think of the admiring looks you’ll get from the other couples when you walk into the pizza place. Priceless!       

Want brownie points? Be your wife’s buddy
 

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan gushed in an interview that a girl who finds a friend in her husband is the luckiest wife. We speak to a few happily married women to find out what equation they share with their husband

Sunita Sengupta,  television actor For a healthy relationship, couples should not stick to playing the traditional roles of husband and wife. Instead, they must be good friends. They should not have pre-conceived expectations but treat each other as individuals. My husband, Harsh Chhaya is supportive of my decisions and he is proud of all my achievements. What makes me feel that he’s my best friend is he recognises my desires, problems and difficulties.

Sheeba ,  television actor It’s very important for couples to be friends first. It goes without saying that friends always respect each other and that’s the underlying foundation for any successful relationship. I have been married for 11 years now, and I’m lucky to have found a friend, confidant and guide in my husband. He’s my support whenever I am confused and need advice. Men must remember, it’s little things that make women happy and my husband understands this simple rule.

Mahima Chaudhary, actor My husband is the one I hang out with 24/7, so it’s important that he’s my best friend. I can confide in him, no matter what. It also helps that we have common interests. The best thing about my husband is that he knows me inside out. To be a woman’s best friend, one has to be honest with her and above all, respect her. Honesty, trust and respect are three attributes which are very important in any relationship, more so in a marriage.

I invest in real estate: Rajneesh Duggal
 

I  always look for uniformity when it comes to yielding profits. That’s one of the main reasons why I keep myself away from the stock market.  I personally believe in buying insurance policies as they remain unaffected by the ups and downs of the stock market. When it comes to investments, I usually trust safer options. Most of my money is invested in mutual funds and insurance policies.  I like to secure my future by buying both life insurance policies as well as health insurances for myself and my family.

Those who just can’t avoid the temptation on quick money that shares promise, must watch the market carefully, at least for three-four months. While planning investment in stock market one needs  to have complete knowledge of the market.  If you have little money and are looking for short term benefits, I would suggest you invest in mutual funds. They are definitely a safer option.  Real estate is best form of investment, if you are looking at yielding bigger profits in the long run. Gold is also a good investment option, though I don’t buy too much of it.

 

 Features of the Week

 

 

Deccan Chronicle

Leave a Reply

