'Background' People To The Fore

18 Nov

Azizi ‘Chunk’ Adnan (centre) and Asrulhisyam Ahmad (second from right) with ushers decked out in Antoofighter costumes.

There was less glam, but giving credit to the production crew of films and telemovies was what made Anugerah Oskar Malaysia an award ceremony to remember. HIZREEN KAMAL gives you this year’s winners.

Raja Azura (right) and Adi Putra.

Shuhaimi Baba.
DESPITE it being a less glamorous affair compared with other award ceremonies, the camaraderie among film and television practitioners at the Anugerah Oskar Malaysia last Saturday was apparent.

Into its seventh consecutive year, the Oskar Night is organised by the Film Workers’ Association of Malaysia (PPFM) to give due recognition to the people behind the scenes whose roles are just as important to the success of a film or telemovie as the leading actors and director.

This year, 58 awards were given out, arguably the largest number to date for the local cinema and television.

Reigning supreme in the film category was Pesona Pictures’ 1957: Hati Malaya, which bagged the most major awards including for Film Artistic Director (Aida Fitri Buyong and Kamarul Nizam Abdul Rahman), Choice Film Melody (Sharon Paul), Film Cinematography (Mohd Filus Ghazali) and Choice Jury Film Actor (Kamarulzaman Taib).
Director Shuhaimi Baba was once again honoured with the Choice Jury Film Director award for the third consecutive year for 1957: Hati Malaya (her supernatural film Waris Jari Hantu took home nine awards at last year’s Oskar.)

1957: Hati Malaya tells the story of the country’s Merdeka heroes like Datuk Onn Ja’afar, and Tunku Abdul Rahman in their quest to gain the nation’s independence. The film also took home four awards at the 21st Malaysian Film Festival (FFM21) in August this year.

Elated by her win, Shuhaimi attributed her triumph to her production crew who had worked hard to ensure the success of the film.

“I am honoured by the recognition. But more important to me is seeing my team enjoying the night and celebrating their win together. Oskar Night is the only awards event where the production crew can join the artistes and directors,” said Shuhaimi, who has just wrapped up the filming of TV series Kasanova XXL, to be aired over TV3.

Also pleased with his win is Kamarulzaman, who described his portrayal as the country’s first Prime Minister in 1957: Hati Malaya as the toughest role he had ever played.

“I didn’t expect to win especially when Rosyam Nor was also nominated. I’m grateful to Shuhaimi for casting me in this role,” said the recipient of FFM21’s Most Promising Actor award.

Romantic drama Sepi, the movie about three individuals coping with the loss of love and loneliness, beat 13 other films to win the Choice Jury Film award. Produced by Grand Brilliance Sdn Bhd (GBSB), the film also bagged the Film Scriptwriter award (Mira Mustaffa/Ara) and Film Key Grip award (Dzulkafli Mohd Yusoh).

Mira and Ara were also honoured for the same category at FFM21 and the Anugerah Skrin 2008 (ASK 2008), respectively.

GBSB garnered six technical awards.

Soon-to-be-released Antoofighter bagged three trophies – Film Visual Effects (Asrul Hisyam Ahmad), 3D Animator (Asrul Hisyam Ahmad) and Film Costume (Azizi “Chunk” Adnan).

Jointly produced by GBSB and Imagebox Sdn Bhd, the win is bound to create a positive buzz in the local cinema scene.

“This recognition is a pleasant surprise. It never crossed our minds that any of our entries would win anything. We are here to support the event. So, yes, we were shocked when our names were announced,” said its director and Imagebox managing director, Azizi.

GBSB’s Ahmad Puad Onah said Antoofighter has what it takes to be a winner.

“The timing could not have been better as we are in the midst of promoting Antoofighter,” he said.

Rashid Sibir, known for his heart-wrenching telemovies, won the Choice Jury Telemovie Director award for the third consecutive year.

“The storyline may be simple but it’s important that everyone can relate to it. Winning awards is a bonus but what’s more valuable is that my work is appreciated by viewers,” said Rashid, on his winning formula.

Rashid is planning to direct romantic comedy, Bidadari, a movie about three effeminate men and the problems they face.

“I promise that the film will not only make the audience laugh but also have them cry buckets,” he added.

The country’s celluloid leading man and telemovies regular, Rosyam Nor, took home the Choice Jury Telemovie Actor award for Lahad.

Produced by his production house Suhan Movies & Trading Sdn Bhd, Lahad is based on the life of Iraq’s former president, Saddam Hussein.

“I am grateful that my work has been recognised. To me the Oskar award is the most prestigious award as the entries were judged by a jury comprising industry experts,” he said.

Malaysia’s first film noir Kala Malam Bulan Mengambang, directed by Mamat Khalid, bagged the Best Film at FFM21 and scored big at the ASK2008.

However, in this event, it secured only the Film Set Designer and Film Continuity awards, besides the Special Jury award for its effort in making a film with a difference.

The Winners

Choice Jury Film: Sepi

Choice Jury Film Director: Shuhaimi Baba (1957: Hati Malaya)

Choice Jury Film Actor: Kamarulzaman Taib

(1957: Hati Malaya)

Choice Jury Film Actress: Vanida Imran (Akhirat)

Tearjerker Role: Fauziah Nawi (Mencari Syurga)

Film Costume: Antoofighter

Male Villain Character: Adi Putra (Akhirat)

Female Villain Character: Raja Azura (Takbir Suci 2)

Choice Jury Telemovie Actor: Rosyam Nor (Lahad)

Choice Jury Telemovie Actress: Haliza Misbun (Schizoid)

Film Artistic Director: Aida Fitri Buyong/Kamarul Nizam Abdul Rahman (1957: Hati Malaya)

Film Cinematography: Mohd Filus Ghazali (1957: Hati Malaya)

Choice Jury Telemovie Director: Rashid Sibir

Choice Jury Telemovie: Lahad (Suhan Movies & Trading Sdn Bhd)

Film Scriptwriter: Mira Mustaffa/Ara (Sepi)

Telemovie Scriptwriter: Nazli Jaafar (Sesuci Al-Fitri)

Film Production Manager: Azlan Sani/Isma Riza (Evolusi KL Drift)

Film Audio: Brian Ng (Congkak)

Film Set Designer: Nazrul Ashraff Mahzan (Kala Malam Bulan Mengambang)

Film Visual Effects: Asrul Hisyam Ahmad (Antoofighter)

Telemovie Videography: Malek Marwi (Lillah)

Telemovie Visual Effects: Harlina Abdul Ghani (Residen)

Choice Film Melody: Sharon Paul (1957: Hati Malaya)

Telemovie Artistic Director: Mohd Firdaus Mohd Sahar (Sumur Kasih)

Film Editor: Shashidanam Rajoo (Vikrant)

Telemovie Editor: Izyan Liyana Mohd Ghazali (Tuhan Pun Tahu)

Film Producer: Metrowealth Sdn Bhd

TV Programme Series: Gerak Khas (Datuk Yusof Haslam of Skop Production Sdn Bhd)

Oskar Achievement Award: Norshah Tamby

Special Jury Award: Producing a Difference: Kala Malam Bulan Mengambang

Special Jury Award: Bringing People Closer to the Handicapped: Pensil

New Straits Times


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: