S.H.E. Wins Big At Singapore Hit Awards 2010

30 Oct

SINGAPORE : Taiwan pop trio S.H.E swept up five awards at this year's Singapore Hit Awards 2010 (SHA 2010) at the Singapore Indoor Stadium on Friday.

Hebe Tien, the only S.H.E. member who was present at the event, collected the trophies for the Asia Media Award (Group), Best Group, Most Popular Group/Band, as well as the Y.E.S. 93.3FM Pick of the Pops: Song of the Year and Y.E.S. 93.3FM Pick of the Pops: Artiste with Most Chart Hits awards, on behalf of the group.

“If I had known I was going to receive so many awards, I wouldn't have worn such high heels!

“My legs are sore, my arms are sore, but I feel great!” joked Tien as she accepted S.H.E's fourth award for the evening.

Tien may have been overjoyed by the trio's performance at the awards, but she still looked a little subdued offstage, probably due to the fact that her group mate Selina Jen was still in hospital after an accident on the film set left her with severe burns.

The 27-year-old almost burst into tears when she spoke of her stricken group mate during her acceptance speech after receiving the award for Most Popular Band/Group, describing the award as being especially meaningful in these difficult times.

“Although we may not be able to do anything to alleviate the pain she is going through, but I hope we can be her pillar of strength and pray for her,” said Tien to the cheers of the audience.

There were no surprises at the SHA 2010, with most of the favourites walking home with awards.

Taiwan star Jay Chou won the award for Album of the Year for his latest work “The Era”, while Show Luo and Rainie Yang picked up the Most Popular Male and Most Popular Female Artiste awards respectively.

Singapore singer Tanya Chua was also a happy lady on Friday as she took home the awards for Best Local Artiste, Best Local Music Composition, Most Versatile Music Personality and the Asia Media Award (female artistes).

Other winners include Eason Chan, A-Mei, Magic Power, JJ Lin as well as Alien Huang, Soda Green and Y2J.

Singapore newcomers Zheng Ke Wei and Serene Koong got the nod as well for their efforts.

Zheng won the award for Local New Artiste – Media's Choice, while Koong picked up the awards for Meritorious Newcomer and Most Popular New Artiste.

“The path of music is always tough. [Winning this award] is definitely a motivation. I am very, very thankful!

“I treasure the great encouragement this has given me and it definitely gives me a lot of strength moving forward,” Koong gushed at the reception after the awards, with a hint of redness in her eyes.

“I will continue to work hard!”

Besides the chance to see many of their favourite artistes in the flesh, audiences also enjoyed electrifying performances by most of the award winners, including a moving medley of songs from Taiwan crooner Jeff Chang, who won the Honorary Award.

The full list of award winners for the SHA 2010 can be found at the event's

Channel News Asia


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: