ARMIE HAMMER

5 Nov

FIRST FACE
ARMIE HAMMER
November 05, 2010
 
 

WHO’S THAT GUY?

This strapping giant Adonis – he’s almost 2m tall – with chiselled good looks is the great-grandson (read: heir) of American oil tycoon and philanthropist Armand Hammer.

WHERE YOU’VE SEEN HIM

On the TV series Gossip Girl, where he had a small recurring role as Serena van der Woodsen’s (Blake Lively) former beau Gabriel Edwards.

WHY HIM

His innate high-society charm and studly golden boy image also make the 24-year-old actor a suitable candidate for Zack Snyder’s highly anticipated Superman reboot.

But sorry girls, he’s off the shelf. Hammer got hitched in May this year.

WHAT’S NEW

For his new movie The Social Network, Hammer pulled double duty in his breakout role by playing twins Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss – aided by model Josh Pence and some of director David Fincher’s CG wizardry.

In the drama about friendship, betrayal and ambition, the Winklevoss brothers accuse Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) of stealing intellectual property.

Many critics have raved about Hammer as a prime scene-stealer, and word has it that he may even snag a best supporting actor Oscar nomination next year.

QUOTED

ON GETTING THE PART OF THE WINKLEVOSS TWINS

‘I heard about it through my agent…I told him I have to be in it and it turned out to be perfect as David (Fincher) needed someone 6 feet 5inches tall (1.95m) and athletic and I was like, ‘I’m 6’5!’

ON JOSH PENCE, HAMMER’S BODY DOUBLE AS TYLER WINKLEVOSS

‘When I grow up I wish I could be a man like Josh Pence. He honestly is such an amazing person. He worked just as hard as I did and he had no problem doing it.’

ON FOOLING THOSE WHO THOUGHT HE REALLY HAD A TWIN BROTHER

‘The best compliment I ever got was at the (movie’s) premiere. A reporter walked up to me and went, ‘Excuse me, I just want to tell you that you are a fantastic actor. You did such a great job. Your brother, he overacts, but you did a great job!’

 

The NewPaper

Leave a Reply

