The New PAP Office Bearers

17 Dec

SINGAPORE – When the People’s Action Party met two years ago to choose the office bearers for its previous Central Executive Committee and other appointment holders, self renewal was a key theme, as three new faces were co-opted.

This time, continuity was the word for the ruling party. The only CEC member making way was National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan. The new face in the party’s highest decision-making body is Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam, who was elected at the PAP conference last month.

Yesterday, the PAP CEC also chose to appoint Mr Shanmugam as a member of its HQ Executive Committee and chairman of the PAP Awards sub-committee. Mr Mah remains as a member of the HQ Executive Committee. Mrs Josephine Teo also joins the HQ Executive Committee, taking over the External Relations sub-committee portfolio from Minister of State (Manpower and Trade and Industry) Lee Yi Shyan.

Mr Lim Boon Heng remains as CEC chairman, with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong re-elected as its secretary-general.

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam is now the new CEC treasurer, replacing Mr Mah. Mr Shanmugaratnam was assistant treasurer previously. The new CEC assistant treasurer is Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, Minister in Prime Minister’s Office.

With the exception of Mr Mah, the four CEC members who had been co-opted in the previous CEC were again brought back: Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong, Education Minister Ng Eng Hen, Deputy Speaker of Parliament Indranee Rajah and Senior Parliamentary Secretary Teo Ser Luck.

Today Online


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: